Verified

The Waterworks Museum

The Hereford Waterworks, Broomy Hill, Hereford, Herefordshire HR4 0LJ
81 Broomy Hill Hereford England HR4 0LJ GB

The Waterworks Museum – Hereford is a 150 year time capsule of working machinery and social history which tells the story of water supplies in Wales and the Marches.

The range of engines, pumps and equipment on display is unique. Most of the machines are the last working examples of their kind anywhere in the world. Its historic buildings and grounds are set close by the beautiful River Wye about 1km from the city centre. Follow the heritage signs from the A49.

The treasure of the collection is the oldest working triple-expansion steam engine in the UK. It stands two floors high and is awesome in operation. The Museum prides itself on having all its engines in operating condition and is run entirely by volunteers. It is a friendly museum where all the staff have time to talk to visitors.

Children especially love to see the superbly restored horse-drawn fire engine. This dates from 1805 and was used on a private estate in Herefordshire (on loan from Herefordshire Museums Service) There are lots more activities for children including trails and timelines.

Opening Times: The Museum is open every Tuesday (not in steam) 11.00am – 4.00pm (except 2 weekends in December)
The Museum is open in steam from April to October on the second and last Sundays of the month, 1.00pm – 4.00pm, plus Easter and August bank holidays.

Photo Credits: © The Waterworks Museum

For further information please visit: http://www.waterworksmuseum.org.uk