Hellens was built as a monastery and was recorded in the Domesday Book survey of 1086. It then had Tudor, Jacobean and Stuart additions. Occupied by Mortimer, Earl of March, Hellens was visited by the Black Prince and Bloody Mary.
The house has a wealth of period furnishings, paintings and decorations plus relics from the Civil War and possessions of the Audley, Walwyn and Wharton family as well as Anne Boleyn.
There is beautiful 17th Century woodwork by the ‘King’s Carpenter’, John Abel and both formal and wild gardens with a labyrinth and dovecote. Fascinating historical stories are incorporated into guided tours, revealing the loves and lives of those who were resident and died here.
Opening Times: Entry is by guided tour at 2pm, 3pm and 4pm. The Tearoom is open from 10am until 5pm serving tea and coffee, home-made cakes and lunches.
Photo Credits: © Copyright Hellens
For further information please visit: http://www.hellensmanor.com